-deep breath- AIEEEEEEEEEEEEE

A day late, but still worth the wait (I hope)!

Aside from the gratuitous amount of Brainiac 5, I could follow nothing in Adventure Comics. Again. Sigh, why do I bother? Oh right, the awesome Legion group shot with XS in it. I’m looking forward to the new Legion ongoing more than I have any right to.

R.E.B.E.L.S. starts out the issue with Starfire being a bitch. This is going to be a common trend, I think. But good god, am I loving Adam Strange in this issue. I, I don’t think I’ve ever said that before. And Salaak…”Start a turf war with the Corps, Son of Brainiac, and you will lose.” LOVE HIM! But I’m not really loving what is probably going to be the new series OTP, Starfire and Captain Comet. Way to go, Kory. You put that L.E.G.I.O.N. logo on your crotch. -facepalm-

The Return of Bruce Wayne is EPIC. I don’t want to say any more than that, because if I do, I won’t shut up until I’ve described the entire issue. Go buy it, if only to see Cave-Robin.

Calculator’s flipped his shit. This is the main theme of Batgirl this month. Also, it would seem that Steph has a crush on the guy that Babs was set up on a date with. Oh, love triangles. The issue hits a creepier turn when everyone who has ever seen Babs, with the exception of Steph, turns into a Calculator-controlled technodrone. And then they…barf nanites on her, turning her into a statue. What?

EEEEEEE JUSTICE LEAGUE GENERATION LOST!!! I’m so happy. And so sad. And feeling pretty hungry. But, AUGH this first issue is so awesome! If I can only say one thing about this issue before I dissolve into a puddle of goo, it’s this: Max, you’re not gay for Booster. Stop it.

So, the Emerald Empress is trying to rape Booster Gold, who is cracking jokes in hope that she’ll stop. Welcome back, Giffen and DeMatteis. I’ve missed you. In other news, the word ‘kerfuffle’ is back in vogue. I can’t wait to see more of it.

Gail Simone is writing the Birds with a vengence. If people weren’t aware of my metaphorical boner for her before, they’re gonna know now. The ending of the issue gave me goose bumps. I’m just, I, I think I need a cigarette. I don’t even smoke, but god help me, I think I need one.

The second issue of the new Flash series was, I don’t know. It was alright, I suppose. It could have been better. We got to see how the Renegades worked, and Barry’s speed-learning was touched on, but aside from that, meh. The Digger subplot was a bit ominous. I mean, the guy comes back to life only to be immediately sent to Iron Heights, and now his so-called friends won’t bust him out. Digger is going to really have to work for it if he wants to be a Rogue again, and I do like that.

The artist on the Titans: Villains for Hire special was on drugs when he was drawing. He must have been. There is no other option I can name as to why there are so many inaccuracies. Slade’s eyepatch on the wrong eye. Cheshire’s grief-fuelled boob job. Ryan Choi didn’t even look Asian, for god’s sake! I’m just going to stop now, because this entire special had me wanting to throw the book across the room.

But as far as things go, I’m probably going to be spastic for the rest of the day. This was a great week for comics. Birds of Prey is back, the JLI is together again, a new Flash issue, and the best writing team around is working on Booster Gold. I’m a happy, happy fan, folks. I hope all of you are too. Touch of Grey out!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    ellie said,

    meow, i likeyyyy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

