Help help, I’ve been book-blocked!

The reviews may be short today, as I’m itching to read the first issue of the Red Hood series. So let’s get to it.

Brightest Day: Pass. The only thing that keeps me coming back is the perverse need to know what’s going on with Osiris and Max Lord, but this series has barely touched on them. The art was pretty good this time around, especially on the Aquaman/Mera section, so that was a nice change of pace. Don’t bother shelling out the $3 every other week, guys. Either read it in store or buy the eventual trades if you’re inclined.

I’m really glad I chose to stick with Red Robin. The era of emoTim has ended, and it’s kind of like the earlier days of the first Robin series again. There’s comedy, detective work, action, and a hint of romance, not to mention amazing art. If you haven’t been following Red Robin, now is a great time to start.

Grant Emerson, this was your life! It’s a Blackest Night fallout issue this month in JSA: All-Stars, and one of the saddest things I’ve read this year. The relationship between Damage and Judomaster was always subtle at best, and I’m crushed that with his death, that particular chapter is closed forever. The second feature was once again, pretty interesting. Nothing like a bit of Da Vinci Code-esque adventuring, eh? If this is what all the second features for this book are gonna be like, I’ll keep reading it.

Now that all of the War of the Supermen stuff is over, Adventure Comics is enjoyable again! This month had a Legion story by Paul Levitz, featuring the original line-up and Clark as Superboy. Every boy deserves to have at least one perfect day, especially a Superboy. I’m so thrilled that Legion is back, you guys. And unf, that art! For a one-shot story, this was a real winner.

The Joker’s Asylum is back! This time around, the Riddler is on the chopping block, and boy is his tale fun. It’s a love story that ends with a riddle, appropriately enough. Sigh, I love the Riddler.

Unfortunately, my comic shop didn’t have the Red Hood mini’s first issue when I got there, and the comic shop down the street was already closed by the time I went to it. So I’m going to be going back on Saturday to grab a copy, and there will be a special all Jason Todd edition of The ToG Blog. But until then, I’m going to go into a little rage coma to pass the time. This is ToG signing off.

Leave a Reply

