I, ToG, take thee, BoP…

Sorry I missed last week, ladies and gents. I was a bit busy dying of heatstroke in good old Florida. I’ll make it up to you, I promise.www.floridasupercon.com

The first two comics of this week are from the second Joker’s Asylum series, and they feature the Mad Hatter, and Harley Quinn. The Hatter’s story is particularly demented, about stalking and tea and girls named Alice. The art made me a bit queasy, but it fits the utter madness of the story, I think. The art in Harley’s issue is much better, and the story itself is about Valentine’s Day. The central theme of this second Joker’s Asylum seems to be love. That disturbs me, I don’t know why.

And the train wreck continues! Okay, maybe not so much as a train wreck as a mild car crash. This issue of Brightest Day actually seems to be going somewhere as they stop focusing on Aquaman and Mera, and start telling us what the hell’s up with Deadman. It’s getting better, but it’s not enough to make me start buying the issues.

Okay, the ending of the latest R.E.B.E.L.S. story arc was pretty cool. Politics at work! The Tamaraneans and the Rannians are sharing a planet, and they’ve all made peace with the Thanagarians…so why am I getting a feeling that the truce won’t last long? And that Komand’r is planning on jumping Vril’s bones? Just a feeling that I get, but if I’m right, you all owe me a soda.

I’m sure you all saw this coming. I’m sorry, Six. Forgive me, Booster. Gail Simone, Ed Benes, you two have outdone yourselves with the second issue of Birds of Prey. It had it all; action, tragedy, the Penguin perving on Dove…my only complaint (which isn’t really much of a complaint, you’ll see.) is with the deaths of Savant and Creote. They weren’t really needed, but at the same time, they add that little extra bit of realness to the situation. Also, I b’awwed a bit when I saw Creote put the gun to his head. He loved Savant so much, he wasn’t willing to live without him, and that really touched me. End story is, I love this series. Love it. We were thinking a spring wedding and would be so happy if you would attend.

In other news and closing notes, I’ll be at Florida Supercon this weekend! Tickets are still available for $35 at Crossroad Comics on University. Look for the lady with the suitcase! Come up, say hi, sign a board! I’m going to be getting a Flickr for this blog for conventions, if you sign a board, you may just end up there!

Leave a Reply

