Nerdrage? In MY blog?

This week, oh, this week. Expect a great deal of nerdrage from me, a new Generation Lost cometh.

A new arc is starting in R.E.B.E.L.S. this week, and it looks pretty kickass. Did I say pretty kickass? So sorry, I meant totally freaking epic. Lyrl is taking over Colu! With a giant…star-thing version of Pulsar Stargrave! I’m nerding out here. The Captain Comet/Starfire interlude was sort of…sigh. I like the girl, I do. But she slept with the guy, and then immediately emotionally blueballed him. Not cool, Kory. The art is getting so much better, I can’t even begin to praise it. Claude St. Aubin, you ust keep doing what you’re doing.

Adventure Comics has been renumbered to be #516. Whee. Oh, don’t listen to me. The reading of R.J. Brande’s holowill was pretty sweet, and the art was fab as always, so I can’t really complain. I didn’t bother reading the new second feature because frankly, I don’t care about Ray Palmer. Don’t care at all. Sorry, Ray! But I don’t care.

Batgirl concluded its ‘Batgirl Rising’ arc this month, and holy balls was it good. And with this issue, Batgirl is officially a year old. Like Gotham City Sirens, this is a series that has kept me hooked not only issue to issue, but actually has me looking forward to the future issues as well. It has a lot to do with the supporting cast as well, eh, ‘Proxy’? Oracle has a sidekick now! And I know that every blogger and his mom will be making fun of the fact that the two main information people in the DCU are handicapped, but fuck ’em. Yeah, I said it. Fuck ’em. I’ve been waiting for something cool to happen with Wendy since she came out of her coma at the end of the Oracle miniseries, and it finally has. Good luck to you, girlfriend.

Booster Gold is my favorite series. Ever. Hands down. I swear my loyalty to Gail Simone and Birds of Prey, but when it comes down to it, I always have a special place in my heart for Booster Gold. Let’s begin. This issue was…oh my god. If it weren’t for the intro and outtro, I’d think I was reading something from the Bwahaha era. Keith Giffen, J.M. Dematteis, please stay on this book as long as possible. You make my heart sing with tragic joy. If you aren’t already reading Booster Gold, you couldn’t possibly pick a better time to start.

I have very little nerdrage, amazingly. Generation Lost, this week, was actually…good. They’re functioning as a team and aside from the little creative license Winick took with how Booster and Max met, which was WRONG, this was a very enjoyable book. If a new JLI stems from this series, it’s pretty obvious that Jaime will be on the team. And I think I’m making my peace with that.

A good week! And now, my parents wish for me to join them in a viewing of Jennifer’s Body. I don’t think they’re gonna like it, but ohhhh well! Until next time, my friends! Peace out!

Leave a Reply

