My bunk, I will be in it until further notice

Flashpoint oh Flashpoint, my heart will sing with glee once you are over. Mainly because I have three titles this week that frankly, I don’t want to read. But I’m going to do it. I’m doing it for all of you. Remember me as a saint and a martyr. Or, if nothing else, remember me as a mildly entertaining babe that fell over dead while reading Emperor Aquaman.

Speaking of which…no. No, I’m not starting my day with that. C’mere, Citizen Cold. So to start, it seems Len Snart may not be under the goggles, and Wally works as a driver for his aunt Iris. Who, you may remember, is not actually married to Barry here. Which leaves Len (not Len?) to hit on her. Pfff oh my god Axel Walker. This kid manages to amuse me every time I see him. He’s apparently the ‘annoying’ villain in Iron Heights. Speaking of the other Rogues, Cold seems to be pretty merciless with them, well, at least to a point. He hasn’t actually killed any of them, not even Mirror Master who everyone thinks is dead, not like he does other people who oppose him. Ooh, now that I like. Citizen Cold really is Len Snart, which we find out when we see him watch his sister get arrested on the news after murdering their father. But a redhead in green is watching him. Could it be…Piper? Well, technically. I’m going to come right out and say that this is a fantastic book so far. Scott Kolins was a great choice to be working on a Cold book, and I’m glad to see him back in the game.
Moving right along to, oh god, Deathstroke and the Curse of the Ravager. Surprisingly, not terrible. The general gist is that Slade is searching the world for his missing daughter, Rose, and killing and plundering any ship that gets in his way. Simple enough, and not worthy of my ire. You may pass unharmed, first issue.
I’ve got no real interest in Frankenstein and the Creatures of the Unknown, so I’ll just be passing it by.
Now on to the real stinker. I’m going to be honest, I don’t give a flying fuck about Aquaman. Never have. He’s just not interesting to me. But this book is being written by Tony Bedard, so I’m sort of required to at least give it a look-see. It actually wasn’t that bad. Basic story of political intrigue followed by betrayal, the death of a lover, yadda yadda yadda. Not bad, actually pretty good, but nothing that I haven’t seen before. I mean, Mera’s death was already spoiled by the variant cover to last week’s issue of the main Flashpoint book, so there’s that. I’ll glance through this book when it comes out, but I’m not planning on buying it.

So I read the two Green Lantern movie prequel comics that came out today. I was pleased to see that apparently, Lantern Iolande and Lantern Kol are going to be in the movie along with some of the better-known Lanterns, according to the Kilowog one-shot. The Tomar-Re one-shot was kind of depressing, though.

Continuing with the Flashpoint tie-ins, Booster Gold! And frankly, it kind of stinks. Booster is on the trail of Zoom, and he’s not doing a great job of it. I’ll be happy when, if, Booster Gold gets back to normal.

Stay classy, Red Robin! Swear to god, I like that book less and less as time goes by. So we go from an assassin tourney in Cairo to Tim about to be raped in Russia over the course of a single issue. That Tim Drake, he loves the ladies soooo much. Please note my sarcasm. What’s next?

I may not be happy about Gail Simone being the writer on the new Batgirl series starring Babs, but damn am I pleased with this issue of Birds of Prey. I love it when Secret Six characters interact with the Birds, and Babs using Catman’s affection for Huntress for information was just inspired. Junior will be back, and I’m on the edge of my seat with anticipation.

Damian, what are you doing? That cover is ridiculous. Dami is all, “Nom! I am eating your wrist, brother!” Precious little kitten. In other news, I’m fainting with joy. Literally slumped over in my chair smiling. I can’t even convey just how much I liked this issue. The art…no. But Judd, Judd darling, dearest, sweetest Judd, you’re redeemed. You’ve managed to seamlessly incorporate all the best parts of Morrison’s Jason and your own, while deleting all the terrible, unnecessary stuff. Way to go, you.

I’m going to have to lay down now, the excitement was simply too much for me. See you lovely people another day.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Chemist52 said,

    Hello ToG!

    I stumbled onto your blog a few weeks ago, and can’t get enough of it!

    As for why I’m writing to say so NOW….

    I’m curious as to whether you think the Red Robin book is going to go through with actually having Tim be raped by (and impregnate!) this woman. I’m calling their bluff…. by which I mean I really, REALLY hope they are not going to do something as squicky as have their 16-17 year old vigilante be forced into non-consensual sex just to up his emo status.

    There is a way to tell such a story in a poignant and socially responsible way. This ain’t it!

    Is it just me, or do the bat-boys have a bit of trouble in this area? Bruce was raped (by Talia), Dick was raped repeatedly (By mirage, through trickery, then mind raped /forced into unwanted psychic sex by evil!Raven, then raped, outright, by Tarantula), and now Tim is either going to be raped or sexually assaulted.
    Jason! Take Damian and run, or DC might get you guys next!
    The really scary thing is that each of those incidents were glossed over (by comic writers AND fandom….pretty sad, huh?). Actually, after Dick was raped by Mirage (who was using her powers to look like his girlfriend at the time), the rest of the Titans found out and…their reply was: “Dick, you SLUT!”

    Fail.

    I really kind of hope the next panel on Red Robin goes something like this:
    “LOLZ!! Just kidding! I actually just have to be naked to use my superpowers…”
    Well, I can hope, right?

    -Chemist52

    • 2

      touchofgrey37 said,

      Hello, Chemist! Glad you’re enjoying the blog, I hope to keep it quality even if, sadly, some of the books I’m reviewing don’t feel the same way.

      The Red Robin, no, the ‘Bat-boys being rape victims’ thing in general is something that, I’m ashamed to admit, I tend to outright purge from my memory because it squicks and enrages me so much. To most people, a woman having sex with a man against his will isn’t rape so much as unwanted sex. Fuck that noise. Fans practically took to the streets with pitchforks and torches when it was even IMPLIED that Barbara Gordon had been sexually assaulted by the Joker during the events of The Killing Joke. Dick has been sexually assaulted/raped at LEAST three times throughout the course of his career and because he’s a man, it’s treated as more of an indignity that comes with the job than as something potentially mentally or emotionally scarring for the character. Because, you know, men don’t have emotions like that.

      The last thing I want to think is that this particular plot device is used periodically as some kind of Batfamily right of passage, but that is really what it’s starting to look like.

      As for Tim, if Fabian knows what’s good for him, this scene will end with Cass swooping down, beating up Promise and, uh, Naked Lass while Kon appears out of nowhere to spirit Tim away.

      Stay classy!

      Touch of Grey

      • 3

        Chemist52 said,

        Have you ever read the interview with Devin Grayson about Nightwing’s rape in her story? Its upsetting. In regards to the fan reaction over it she says something to the effect of “I never said rape…I just said it was non consensual.”
        They’re the SAME thing! Non consensual sex is the DEFINITION of rape. Urgh.
        It could have been a good story arc too, if they hadn’t forgotten about it ten minutes later…

        Nice point about it being a “rite of passage,” lol. But I think it’s too widespread to just apply tor them….I mean, Oliver Queen, the first Star Man, a possible implied Kyle Rayner (wtf was THAT, anyway?)…it’s getting kind of disturbing.

        Ha! Kon (with a K! They need to remember that more….) should totally save the day. Though, I wouldn’t complain if it was Bart, either…he needs more screen time. He’s the only original Young Justice member without their own book now 😦

        -Chemist52


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

