This was actually a pretty good week to be a comic fan.

Fairly big week, hooray! I have to review Catwoman, boo.

Judd Winick, look at your life. Look at your choices. Now look at your writing in comparison to, say, Ed Brubaker. Jeph Loeb. Darwyn Cooke. What do all of these writers have in common, compared to you? They don’t suck when it comes to writing Selina Kyle. I have no review other than this.

Nightwing is kind of like Green Lantern: New Guardians to me. It’s one of those “wonder of x” books, with x equaling Dick Grayson. Dick is now the owner of Haly’s Circus, he gets to bang the hot redhead, but he’s also sort of a murder suspect, and still on the hitlist of that Saiko guy. This issue deals with delving into Dick’s past, and it’s sort of dull. But hey, next month: Batgirl! And after their riveting encounter in her title, I’m just so looking forward to that.

I liked this issue of Red Hood and the Outlaws. It’s like, Lobdell was getting his terrible out of the way early so that he could bring us things like this. Kory’s ‘most cherished memory’ may not really seem like a good thing, but I think I understand. It was the first time she re-asserted herself as a member of royal blood after the Citadel conquered her planet. To her, the feeling she had then was one of not only power, but freedom, a freedom she hadn’t felt for some time. Roy’s memory was another empowering one. He was at his lowest point, and was brought up out of the darkness by an unexpected person. Jason’s memory is the only one that could really be considered ‘cherished’; when he was sick, and Bruce took a night off from The Mission to spend time with him. All in all, it was a pretty good issue. Kenneth Rocafort can draw everything forever, as far as I’m concerned.

Justice League is getting progressively better. I haven’t been following Wonder Woman (though I’m changing that as of today), so this is my first look at her in the DCnU. You know, I like her. I like her a lot. She’s got the mindset of your typical Amazon, and the curiosity of a child. Combined, they make for a good, interesting take on a character we all know so well. You know, one of my favorite things about Justice League is all the little character cameos. Dr. Stone works alongside Dr. Ivo and Tom Morrow, while their intern is Sarah Charles. Squee!

I like Simon Tycho. Maybe it’s because I have a weakness for evil rich dudes, but my god do I like this character. He reminds me of reboot Brainiac 5, always focusing on the experiment at hand. Supergirl is a fantastic fish-out-of-water title, and I really do like it, so hopefully this Luthor-lite is going to be a recurring villain.

So is it just me, or is Brainy’s hair getting curlier and more fabulous every issue? Is there a humidifier in his lab or something? No, I’m not going to focus on the Dominator plot. I have no interest in the Legionnaires on that mission, but I happen to love Brainy and Glorith, so that’s where I’ll be focusing my attentions. This Portella guy? Keep him on Legion. His Brainy is the best I’ve seen in a couple of years.

I don’t think any of you comprehend how much I love Green Lantern Corps. I’ve always enjoyed reading about Lanterns other than the ones from 2814. That being said, I love Peter Tomasi, as a writer. Yes, he keeps the Lanterns of 2814 at the forefront, but he also introduces us to so many of the lesser-written Lanterns. For instance, in this issue, Salaak is fantastic, and Lantern Porter really gets a star role. I’m interested to know what’s up with the enemy they’re fighting, though. I’m guessing that they’re creatures literally made of willpower, that would explain the higher than possible levels. Maybe a creation of the late Krona? Ah well, until next month.

So, maybe y’all have heard of a gentleman named Kevin Maguire. In my personal opinion, he does the best, most expressive faces in comics. Ig Guara is now officially my choice for a close second, a title that, ironically, was once held by the last penciller of the Blue Beetle ongoing, Rafael Albuquerque. Basically what I’m saying is that the art in this book? Probably my favorite in the DCnU. Yes, I like it better than Batwoman and the Flash. But really, look at Jaime on the second page. Look at his face and his body language and tell me that this isn’t one hell of a happy kid. You can literally feel the characters emotions as you read, and that’s amazing. The story is also getting progressively better, with Bianca regaining some of her first-run awesome mom charm, and Milagro finally having a speaking part. However, most of the issue is more focused on La Dama. She’s… noticeably more evil in this incarnation than she used to be, actually killing someone on-panel in order to locate Jaime. Also, look at Plasmus, Warp, and Phobia. Those new designs are flawless. I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that I do in fact love Blue Beetle, in its current incarnation.

That was this week in comics! Sorry about the late update, but, well, I’m addicted to American Horror Story. If you haven’t seen it yet, it’s really worth a watch. See y’all back here next Wednesday!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Eric said,

    I agree! Blue Beetle is awesome and should keep going! I wish people would stop focusing on the past and see its awesomeness!

  2. 2

    Waterwindow said,

    And Suicide Squad stopped sucking too X3 Fun fun~!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

