And now, a first: An almost rage-free comic review!

Seven books? But, it’s not the second week of the month! Ah well.

See, this is what I like. A Legion cooldown issue done well. The issue starts out with the discovery that someone out there is trying to recreate the Fatal Five, which will surely be the big focus of the next arc. But the real stars of this issue are the original three. Garth and Imra take Rokk out on the town for the night, and he begins to reconnect with his old lady-love Lydda Jath, former member of the Legion of Substitute Heroes. It was a good issue, for what it’s worth, and the first time I haven’t had mostly negative things to say about a Legion book.

Okay, I was wrong. Remember how I said I thought Supergirl was a fairly dull book? Wrong wrong wrong. One thing I was right about, though, was how the Irish girl from a few issues back would pay a larger part. Spoiler alert: It’s Silver Banshee! I’ve always loved characters, especially villains, that draw from mythology and folklore, so banshees have always held a soft spot in my heart. So, while I’d have liked more time between Siobhan and Kara’s meeting, and Siobhan becoming Silver Banshee, I liked the end-of-issue reveal all the same. You go, team Supergirl!

I’m still not fond of Blue Beetle. Jaime reminds me a bit too much of One Year Later Tim Drake to be entirely likable, but by god, at least the story is getting better. Stopwatch is a fantastic villain, and I see that Tony Bedard was drawing inspiration from the likes of Clock King, with a nice helping of tragic mad scientist to net him some fans, when he was writing him. It’s also nice to see a holdover from the old DCU, namely, the Reach scarabs hating Green Lanterns. My only real disappointment is that the first GL Jaime has ever met is going to be Kyle. I’d have liked to see how Tony would have written a Jaime/Guy fight. Then again, he’s also writing New Guardians, so I guess it makes sense for it to be Kyle. Wow, I think this is the most positive I’ve ever been about Blue Beetle, and it only took 8 months of bitching to realize that.

Okay, I’m confused. Isn’t Justice League supposed to take place 5 years prior to everything else in the DCnU? Oh wait, last issue, they kicked it up to present day. Why? Why is that a good idea? The only way I can live with the characters in Justice League acting as completely out-of-character (or in some cases, acting as parodies of themselves) as they do is because they’re young. Just starting out. Taking time to grow and mature. But no, five years later, they’re still a bunch of bickering children…and Barry. I think Geoff Johns is trying to make up for his Road to Flashpoint arc of the previous Flash series by making Barry as caring and concerned for others as he possibly can. Oh, look, it’s time again for Grey to talk about the technical areas of the comic book! Speaking of creators, I’m convinced. Jim Lee truly is one of a kind. There are three guest artists on the book this week, including Ivan Reis who worked with Geoff on the old main Green Lantern book, Blackest Night, Brightest Day, and the current Aquaman series…and none of them have the ability to make these horribly written people look as good as Jim does. But back to the actual story, and the giant middle finger it loves to wave at us. I haven’t been reading the new Green Arrow series, nor have I been keeping up with StormWatch. So today, I was finally introduced to DCnU Ollie and J’onn (I’m not counting his appearances in Green Lantern Corps). Now, I’ve never liked Ollie. But J’onn J’onzz used to be the heart and soul of the Justice League. He was truly my favorite Martian. And now…he’s probably never going to appear as a friend of the League, ever again.
So, how about that Shazam? As soon as I saw the other characters in this backup, I realized that, oh snap, we’re going back to Flashpoint S!H!A!Z!A!M!. These are literally the same kids, and with their reveal, the name change makes sense. By the way, in case anyone was wondering, yes, Billy is still an awful little shit that you just want to beat into a pulp. Mary is fairly badass, though. And after all the crap DC put her through before the reboot, she deserves to be seen as something other than a joke.

Scott Lobdell, I sincerely hate your writing. I do. You’re awful. Suzie Su? She is literally just a fat ball of rage. That’s her character. That’s who she is. You dedicated almost an entire issue to that bit of nothingness…then wrote two pages of the best character interaction between Jason and Tim outside of fanfic. How. How is this. I can’t. How are you a person with some kind of depth to you, as well as at least a basic understanding of how people interact, and still put out three awful titles a month? I don’t get it. I’m so confused right now.

God, I love Batman. No, not Batman. God, I love the creative team behind Batman. Only Scott Snyder could write a story where a centuries-old Illuminati discovers the secret of Batman, and Alfred squishes one of them with the giant penny. Only Scott Snyder could do this, and not be called completely insane. The Night of the Owls has begun. It has already touched books like Red Hood and the Outlaws, Nightwing, and Catwoman. The first crossover event of the new year, of the new universe, and it promises to be a good one.

It has come to my attention that last month’s issue of Wonder Woman wasn’t generally well-received by my peers, namely, female comic fans. So here, have a rant from last month: http://touchofgrey37.tumblr.com/post/19720812353/im-seeing-a-lot-of-rage-and-sadness-and-hate-towards
As for this month, however. Wow. It’s all I can say. All I need to say. Cliff Chiang has a grasp of anatomy and movement that is unmatched by any on this mortal plane. Brian Azzarello is an amazing worldbuilder. In so many other adaptions of myth, the Underworld is a place where the dead are tortured, or trapped, or just generally miserable. Azzarello’s denizens of the Underworld are things, places. They fight for their master, when called upon. And the idea of them makes the concept of life after death all that much scarier. Of course, the twist at the end of the issue had me flipping pages. Had Hephaestus set her up, with the guns? Did Hermes know, as soon as he saw Zola, that he was only leaving with one woman? In any case, next month, Hades liked it, so he’s putting a ring on it!

Oh, wow. This week was so…positive. I don’t know what happened. Is it possible that comics are getting…good? No, can’t be. My sincerest apologies for posting this at 1 am. I had to go into work unexpectedly, and didn’t actually get to the comic shop until 8 pm. Hope to see you back next week!

Leave a Reply

