The Rot spreads everywhere unseen…

Welcome, one and all, to the month of five Wednesdays! Yes, this means shorter posts, comparatively, but five Wednesdays means five new entries in the ToG Blog, and this is week one! Boy, my pull list is tiny today. And yet, I’m still rather pleased, as one of my favorite books is on the plate for today. Let’s jump right in!

This is goodbye for Earth-2. I’d been expecting so much from this book, and it turned out to be a grim and gritty version of the Golden Age. At this point, Robinson is just name-dropping to name drop. Oh, and Terry Sloan is apparently evil. I think that was the final straw for me, personally. Farewell, Earth-2. You were just disappointing.

So, uh. Who else was cringing through Green Lantern? Like I’ve said before, Muslim-Americans are an incredibly touchy subject within comics. I’ve seen the phrase ‘terrorist Green Lantern’ thrown around too many times on forums and various comic websites since Simon Baz’s reveal. But you know what it is that bugs me most? No one thinks he’s innocent in the bombing. His own sister doesn’t really believe him to be innocent. She was willing to sell him out to the Justice League. And I guess that’s why I can’t really take this title seriously. I mean, you know Hal and Sinestro are going to come back. You know they are. So, where’s that going to leave Simon? Out in the cold, or dead. Sorry, but that’s what happens in DC now.

Rotworld begins! When we last left Buddy and Alec, they were in the Rot…meanwhile, back on Earth, the Rot was in everything. The last stand of the Green included Poison Ivy, Jason Woodrue, Deadman, and, uh. Yeah. That’s it. And then the Rot got to Woodrue, so a ghost and an eco-terrorist were all that was left to fight for the non-meat living things of the world. This issue is…pretty bleak. It shows how the Rot overtook everything. Killed billions of people. Turned metahumans into rotling warriors. I…kind of want to know why this isn’t playing out in the other books. I mean, Earth was basically destroyed by this mini-event, and it’s being contained to two books. The Court of Owls story spanned over what, ten? Amazing. Anyway, it seems as though Alec and Buddy have parted ways for the time being, as Swamp Thing is going to tell the story of The Green Kingdom, and Animal Man will be telling the story of The Red Kingdom. Speaking of which…

SPOILER ALERT

Didn’t the Baker family already die once? Seriously, even the Earth’s Dragon Balls wouldn’t bring them back again. It’s a solid story, though. Technically speaking, Cliff is the weakest member of the Baker family. He has no powers of his own, nor the strength of a grown person. Of course he’d be the first infected. Next would be Ellen, who is too good of a mom to have any real self-preservation instincts, when her kids are involved. But, poor Maxine. God, she wouldn’t be able to fight her mom and brother, she’d try to make a run for it, if the idea came to mind. So, the last stand of the Red are Beast Boy, Steel’s consciousness in an armored shell, and Black Orchid. Eh, they’re doing better than the Green, at least. And of course fucking Constantine is still alive. You couldn’t off that guy with the gun that could kill any man. Once again, though, how have traces of the Rot not shown up in other books?! This is sincerely distressing me. Are the Swamp Thing and Animal Man books not part of the main DCnU? Is this a universe-next-door Vertigo thing? I. Don’t. Understand. And now, with the end of the world, and also the Flash Annual having dashed my hopes of Mirror Master being Evan McCulloch, I’m fairly certain our favorite gap-toothed Rogue won’t be showing up to lend a family-restoring hand this time. Ohh, it’s going to be a long month.

That was this week in comics! I’m pleased with what I picked up, personally. I mean, between you, me, and the wallpaper, I bought Animal Man, Swamp Thing, and Fairest. Which, by the way, if you’re not reading Fairest, read Fairest! It’s a pretty cool side-series to the long running Fables book, and I like it quite a bit more than the other side-series, Jack of Fables. In any case, I’m ToG, I’m hungry, and I’m fairly sure I’m not out of eggs. See you next week, when we wade though Suicide Squad, Superboy, the Ame-Comi Wonder Woman one-shot, and Batman. Goodnight!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Eric said,

    Do you read the news? Simon Baz IS GOING TO BE IN THE JUSTICE LEAGUE OF AMERICA!!! Not the JL, but the JLA, with Steve Trevor involved. And there’s no proof yet that she sold him out. It may be implied that way but it hasn’t been set in stone yet. Cyborg probably just hacked her phone while talking to her parents, we have to wait and see.

    And Earth 2 may be gritty only for the first arc, since they’re dealing with the Gray, the Earth 2 version of the Rot. And Sloan is portrayed as someone who is willing to do whatever is necessary for the greater good rather than straight up evil. It’s just his actions that are seen as evil.

    • 2

      touchofgrey37 said,

      Honestly, no. I don’t read the news. I find myself spoiled by stuff via sites like Comicvine all the time, so I’ve chosen to stop visiting them. I’d prefer to read the comics first, THEN go and find out what other people thought of them. As for the second part of that paragraph, no, I’m pretty sure she sold him out. Look at her face as she holds the phone. Her eyes are in shadow, which is something that’s usually done to show that a character is making a shifty move. It’s a terrible thing, but remember the scene just beforehand. Sira was basically fired because of her brother, and then he just shows up. Her reputation, as well as the reputations of everyone in her family, were ruined because of what he was accused of doing, whether he actually did it or not. What would you do?

      Ehh. This title has been irritating me from the first issue, truth be told. I’d been just so willing to write it off as passable, if not outright good, because of how much I’d been enjoying the other book James Robinson was writing, but no. I personally do not like Earth-2. I am not going to buy it anymore. I am not going to read it anymore. I am no longer interested in it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

