Reading the feels away.

The last week of the month is usually my favorite. Business tends to pick up at work, I’m that much closer to flipping to my new calender picture, and two of my favorite books come out. Yes, Young Avengers has officially made it onto my top five currently running favorite books (along with Saga), dropping Animal Man and Hawkeye to spots six and seven respectively. And I need these books today, as my boyfriend has gone up north for the next few months, and I am sad. So let’s get right to it!

Ugh, didn’t I just say that I was already sad? It’s like I never want to be happy again. Thankfully, the funeral of Damian Wayne takes up but a few pages, after which we turn to…oh, goddamnit. There is a part of me that believes that Grant Morrisson didn’t create Beryl to eventually become Knight, but that part is very small. I know the game you’re playing now, Grant. You create or revitalize characters, make us love them, and then in the blink of an eye and a snap of a neck, they’re gone. If you’ve been picking up the various Bat-titles with the Requiem logo on them, know this. You’re only going to get any sort of feeling of closure from Batman and Robin, and now Batman Inc. That’s how important Damian Wayne is to the Batfamily, folks. This is the sendoff he gets.

Ah, Young Avengers. What would I do without you and your fantastic sense of snark and timing? Kieron Gillen and Matt Fraction are, in my opinion, the most on-the-ball writers in Marvel’s talent farm right now. I feel like they personify the statement, “comics should be good“. Damn it, DC, if you’re planning on stealing writers from Marvel, why not these guys? Ahem. In this third issue of Young Avengers, Miss America Chavez kicks some serious frost giant ass, Billy has lost his mojo, the babies go clubbing, and I’m officially past the point of terrified of Teddy’s mom. If I need to say anything other than that to get you to go buy it, I’m obviously not doing this right.

I have a horrible confession to make: I spent the extra money and bought both the regular cover and the variant cover of this month’s Flash. Yes, it’s the same picture, but wow, the detail in the shaded version?! Are there official modern art deities, because Francis Manapul deserves to be one of them. This issue, however, was not drawn by Manapul. In fact, the cover was the only thing he had any part in. Flash #18 was written entirely by co-writer Brian Buccellato, and drawn by Marcio Takara, whom you may remember from Blue Beetle. And, if I just may? Wow. I’ve gotten into hour-long arguments over why Barry is better when written by anyone other than Geoff Johns and, yup. My stance holds its ground. But enough about the creators! This issue starts a two-issue arc focusing on one of my personal favorite Rogues, Axel Walker, the Trickster. The Trickster has been framed for murder! But why? Well, if you haven’t been paying attention to the solicitations for the next few months, I’m going to spoil it for you: Reverse Flash. That’s this arc, really. Oh, and we get to see the effects of the Speed Force on more normal people who spend a lot of time in it, with Gomez and Albert, also known as the newest wannabe vigilantes in Central, Sprint and Turbo-Charger. But honestly, the person I’m most focused on here is Axel. Not because he’s one of my babies (he is) or because I’ve been waiting forever to see more of his New 52 personality (I have), but because his new personality is actually pretty similar to his old one. DCU Axel was certainly louder, more abrasive and, quite frankly, meaner than New 52 Axel has been shown to be so far, but they both have one thing in common: they’re both kids in a grown-up’s game, looking for a family to call their own. And New 52 Axel finally found it. Now, I think he may have chosen that family because of their similar taste in hair styles, but whatever makes him happy.

That was this week in comics! I’m…actually very tired. Incredibly tired. I just want to go to bed right now. But I’ll be back next week with…uh. Hm. This is embarrassing. Animal Man seems to have be missing from April, and since I dropped Swamp Thing after Scott Snyder left the title, there aren’t any regularly reviewed titles for next week. So, uh. Vacation?

Leave a Reply

