I had no money this week

So I am technically pilfering comics for your enjoyment. I hope you’re proud of yourselves.

In Booster Gold this month, Booster puts his angry face on for the camera. While fighting bad guys, he accidentally kills a little girl’s dog. Out comes the sad face. And then he goes back in time to watch a meteor shower. I guess time travel has some perks. But his sister is still mad at him for letting her boyfriend die along with Coast City, so he goes to beg her forgiveness. Oh wow, Gladys was a fake wife! Nonexistant! God, Booster, why didn’t you just tell Ted you loved him instead of the wife charade? Anyway, of course Michelle forgives him. So Rip takes Booster on a little trip to save the girl’s dog from dying. How sweet. Finally, Rip gets an alert from Vanishing Point about Batman. Dun dun dun!

This month, Batgirl started out pretty nicely. Steph successfully averted a trainjacking, got a pat on the back from the Commissioner, and got rained on. Meanwhile, Babs is spending time with Wendy Harris, teaching her how to be cool with being paralyzed. And then the deaths start. Nanites in the blood, is the end diagnosis. Uh oh. Looks like the Calculator is going to be part of Oracle and Batgirl’s personal Rogue’s Gallery from now on, and he has flipped. Unless of course you see someone keeping the corpse of their dead son in their office as normal. Which leads to the question, where’s Kit? If Noah is chillin’ with a corpse, where did everyone’s favorite soul-summoner get to?

Last time on Secret Six, some thugs threatened to kill Catman’s son if he didn’t do in his teammates. Today, he told them to kindly piss off. In, uh, slightly more intimidating words. After stealing the team jet, he finds that his son is nowhere to be found, but Cheshire is beaten pretty badly. Meanwhile, back at the Mansion of Nowhere, Scandal and Bane get into words. And he’s still trying to be a dad to her, so he tries to ground her. Ooh, that wasn’t a good idea. Surprisingly, she doesn’t kill him, or even maim him. Though she does kiss his cheek, which made me d’aww. She really does care about him. Anyway, cut to the guy that has Tom’s kid. He is…having sex with his girlfriend. And then Tom breaks in through the window and grabs her, causing the bad guy, Claudio, to kill his own lady by accident. One thing I really love about Gail Simone’s writing is how she can make you feel bad for the nastiest of men simply by introducing, and destroying, something they honestly love. Also, anyone that encourages slash fic is cool by me. By the way, it turns out that Claudio didn’t kill Tom’s son. Doesn’t mean that the poor bastard isn’t going to die for trying.

Once again, I have no idea what’s going on in Adventure Comics. I think I’m going to drop it until the War of the Supermen is over, because I am so confused.

Gen 13 was pretty good. I haven’t been understanding it lately, but it’s got a good cast of characters and everyone loves the story of a post-apocalyptic world, right? If you’ve never read the series before, I suggest it.

Because I haven’t picked up a Marvel book in nearly 8 months, I had no idea that there was a Young Avengers one-shot for Siege. Long spoiler short, Billy is a closet Norse nerd, Teddy thinks that’s hilarious, there is banter, boyhugs, fighting, and Eli kisses Kate. Also Tommy and Hawkeye sorry, Ronin have a moment. All in all, a good book.

I’m not going to say anything about Brightest Day. It was amazing. It was saddening. It made me gasp a good three times. But I’m not going to say anything. Go to your local comic store and read it yourself.

And now for the star of the show.

I’ve been looking forward to the new Flash series since Flash: Rebirth was announced. I’ve devoured preview pages, pounced on spoilers, but nothing in the world could have prepared me for the sheer work of beauty that the first issue held. I was delighted, I was amazed, at one point, I got a serious case of goosebumps. And while I don’t think it’s my place to fully review what is probably going to surpass Booster Gold as my favorite ongoing, I’m gonna give it a shot.

Central City is obsessed with speed. The citizens chug coffee, the cops try to solve cases as fast as they can, even if the verdicts aren’t always correct. And now, for the first time in awhile, Central City is once again the home of the fastest man alive. To make a long spoiler short, while the title of the first story arc is “The Dastardly Death of the Rogues”, they never specified when those Rogue would be from.

I’m done for the day, gonna go work on my costume for the premire of Kick-Ass on Friday. If anyone is going to be at the Sawgrass Mills Mall, stop by the theater and say hey to the troupe of superheroes you find.

Leave a comment